

Virtual General Membership Meeting Minutes Tuesday, May 16, 2023 at 7:00 pm

Theresa Wesley called the meeting to order at 7:01pm

Quorum has been met. Approval of agenda.

Attendees: Andi Kiehle, Amelia Windle, Casey Stumpf, Kristie Galati, Sara Tuttle, Lindsay Hill, Theresa Wesley, Jaemi Carkin, Dana Bober, Ms. Poplawski, LaTanya Holland, Lauren Shernoff, Susan Mullen, James McConnell, Lauren Lampl, Erin Ford, Erika Ryan, Debra McMahan, Olivia Henson, Cerra Clough, Faliha Chaudhry, Erika Ogedegbe, Rachel Tallerico, Kriti Achreja

Zaina Brown – Secretary (Theresa Wesley)

- Motion to approve minutes from April 2023.
 - Motion made by Theresa Wesley
 - Seconded by Dana Bober
- Motion passed 17-0

Brittany Sharpe – VP of Membership (Theresa)

Membership ended at 229 members

Nargess Latifi – VP of Family Events (Theresa)

• Family bingo coming up, will let committee make report

LaTanya Holland – VP of Fundraising

• Sprout School Supply boxes – website goes live this week. Last day to order is 6/20/2023. Flyers to be sent home with students.

Andi Kiehle – VP of After School Programs

- Working with two vendors did not fulfill their contracts in the PTA's opinion.
- They will not be invited back.

Cerra Clough - Treasurer

 Please submit all reimbursements by 5/19, unless it is for the 5th grade party, bingo, or you have talked with her.

Theresa Wesley - President

- End of year recap see slide in folder
- MSAAC Awards ceremony May 17 @ 7pm in the LCPS Admin building (Livestream available). April minutes are in the folder and available on the MSAAC website
- SEAC April 12th & May 3rd meetings were business & subcommittee working meetings. Documents can be found in the meeting folder and on SEAC website.
- Need MSAAC and SEAC reps for next school year

Guest attendee Erika Ogedegbe

- · Apologized for late arrival and early departure
- · Wants to attend a meeting next year

LEAF – Lauren Shernoff

- Last meeting of the year was held. Schedule coming out for next year over the summer.
- Tolbert submitted Lauren as the school's MSAAC representative for next year (Susan Mullen)

Spirit Night – Rachel Bryson (Theresa)

- 5/23 Solo Pizza
- 5/30 Dairy Queen
- Susan Mullen brought up Kendra Scott and Brusters as potential spirit nights for next year

Bingo Committee (Erika Ryan, Erin Ford, Jaemi Carkin, Debra McMahan)

- Bingo on Friday
- 6 or 7 raffle baskets

Staff Appreciation - Olivia Henson

- Teacher & Staff Appreciation Week went well
 - Grand Slam Breakfast
 - Concession Stand snacks sponsored by Mathnasium of Leesburg
- Looking to do end of year treats too

Susan Mullen - Principal's Report

- Thanks to new BOD members
- Ceiling Tiles look great
- Field Day is 5/31/2023; Rain date 06/01/2023

Elections

- Sara Tuttle of the nominations committee reviewed the 2023-2024 Proposed Slate
 - President Theresa Wesley
 - Secretary Lauren Shernoff
 - Treasurer Andi Kiehle
 - VP of Membership LaTanya Holland
 - VP of Family Events Jaemi Carkin
 - VP of Fundraising VACANT
 - VP of ASP VACANT
- Theresa discussed protocol for the election as provided by VAPTA (see folder)
 - Floor nominations for president none
 - Floor nominations for secretary none
 - Floor nominations for Treasurer none
 - o Floor nominations for VP of Membership none
 - o Floor nominations for VP of Family Events none
 - o Floor nominations for VP of ASP Andi Kiehle nominated Faliha Chaudhry
 - Floor nominations for VP of Fundraising LaTanya Holland nominated Zaina Brown
- No office is running contested. Voice vote permitted.
 - President Theresa Wesley unanimous vote in favor
 - Secretary Lauren Shernoff unanimous vote in favor
 - Treasurer Andi Kiehle unanimous vote in favor
 - VP of Membership LaTanya Holland unanimous vote in favor
 - VP of Family Events Jaemi Carkin unanimous vote in favor
 - VP of ASP Faliha Chaudhry unanimous vote in favor
 - VP of Fundraising Zaina Brown unanimous vote in favor

NEW BUSINESS - None

Theresa Wesley – Motion to adjourn at 7:48; Second Susan Mullen